• Counter :
  • 293
  • Date :
  • 12/19/2011

Timeline of Iranian History

part 6


1941: Iran is occupied by the Allied Forces. Reza Shah is forced to abdicate in favor of the crown prince.


1942:  The Kurdish chiefs are released from detention. A Tribal Commission is formed in Tehran and migratory routes are restored.


1945: The Provincial Government of Azerbaijan is formed. It is followed by the Mahabad Republic of Kurdistan.


1941: Mohammad Reza Shah ascends to the throne following his father’s forced abdication.


1943: Elections for the crucial 14th parliament starts. The Tudeh Party presented 23 candidates, eight won in the elections.


1944: On international workers day in May, the Tudeh party announces the merger of four union federations into the first major trade union in Iran. With sixty affiliates and close to one hundred thousand members, the Tudeh Party reaches its peak during this period.


1946: The Prime Minister, Qavam, signs the Northern Oil Concession with the Russians. The parliament rejects the agreement. Russian forces evacuate Iranian Azerbaijan. Three Tudeh Party members are appointed cabinet ministers by the Qavam. Major strikes are organized by the Tudeh Party and several labor leaders are arrested.


1947: Parts of British/India Baluchistan is annexed to Pakistan by the British.


1950: The Prime Minister Ali Razmara is assassinated after 9 months in office. He is succeeded by the nationalist, Mohammad Musaddiq. The Iranian government

recognizes Israel.


1951: The parliament nationalizes the oil industry in April. The Anglo-Iranian Oil Company is disabled and Shah and Musaddiq collide. Britain boycotts the purchase of Iranian oil.


1953: Shah and his wife, Soraya are forced to live Iran. They come back after only a few days in Europe with the help of western countries, including United States. Musaddiq is overthrown and the Tudeh Party is banned.


1957: The first Tehran Jewish Congress is inaugurated and the World Jewish Congress is permitted to open an office in Tehran.


1962: Land Reform Act is implemented in Iran.


1963: The White Revolution or the Shah and People’s Revolution is officially proclaimed.


1960: The Shah is pressured by the Americans to permit independent candidates run for the twentieth parliament. The accusations of vote rigging force the authorities to stop the elections. The Prime Minister Eqbal is removed.


1961: Dr. Amini, the new Prime Minster dissolves the twentieth parliament.


1964: The clergy oppose Shah’s reforms and Imam Khomeini is exiled. Imam Khomeini is sent to Turkey first and then Iraq, where he stays from 1965 to 1978.


1967: Shah is crowned as the king of kings in a lavish ceremony watched by the world media. He is granted the title Arya Mihr (the Light of the Aryans) by the parliament. Queen Farah becomes the first Iranian queen officially crowned by a king and becomes the regent to the throne. 


1971: The anniversary of 2500 years of Iranian civilization is celebrated at Persepolis.

Other Links:

Haft Keshvar (7 Countries)-part 1    

History of Ancient Medicine in Mesopotamia & Iran-part 1    

Iran, a Brief History (part 1)    

A – Z of Iran History (A)   

History of Ancient Medicine in Mesopotamia & Iran-part 2   

  • Print

    Send to a friend

    Comment (0)